Skip Navigation Links

CCC Student Receives the 2008 Sheriff’s Association Scholarship

Monday, July 07, 2008


Plattsburgh, N.Y. __ Clinton Community College student Jonathan Seiden is the recipient of the 2008 New York State Sheriffs’ Association Annual Scholarship. The $500 criminal justice scholarship was presented to Seiden by Clinton County Sheriff, David Favro at a luncheon held in his honor.

Seiden graduated at the top of his class in May of 2008 with a degree in criminal justice. He was the recipient of the 2008 Mildred P. Kelly Memorial Award for Excellence in Criminal Justice Academics. During his final semester Seiden completed a Field Practicum Internship with the City of Plattsburgh Police Department receiving high evaluations from his supervisors there. Jonathan Seiden is a City of Plattsburgh resident, and the son of John and Bucky Seiden also of Plattsburgh.

John Mockry, CCC associate professor and coordinator of the criminal justice program, nominated Seiden for the award. "Jon has demonstrated his abilities through high academic excellence and extensive involvement in the campus and community," said Mockry. He’s participated in numerous Criminal Justice Club activities over the two years he has been at CCC and he is currently awaiting Civil Service exam results for a potential career in law enforcement with either the New York State Police or City of Plattsburgh Police." Mockry further expressed, "Jon is without a doubt one of the best and most enjoyable students I have ever had the pleasure of working with here at Clinton Community College."

The New York State Sheriffs’ Association Annual Scholarship is presented to one full-time criminal justice student at each community college in the state of New York. The criteria include academic excellence, financial need, and a desire to pursue a career in criminal justice.

For more information about a career in criminal justice contact Admissions at 518 562-4170 or visit the web at:


L-R: Major Robert Craig, John Seiden, Jonathan Seiden, Associate Professor, John Mockry, Sheriff David Favro, Bucky Seiden