Skip Navigation Links

Spring 2017 Commencement

Thursday, May 11, 2017

The annual Spring Commencement will take place at Clinton Community College on Friday, May 12 at 6:00 PM in the Forrence Center gym.

167 students are eligible for graduation and 170 total Degrees and Certificates will be awarded. 40 students will be graduating summa cum laude, magna cum laude and cum laude; 33 are Phi Theta Kappa honor society members, and 7 are Clinton County Presidential Scholars.

Class of 2017 Valedictorian and student speaker is Liz-Audrey Djomnang. Liz-Audrey was born and raised in Cameroon (Central Africa) in a family of four children. She was the only girl among three boys and attended the Government Bilingual High School of Bafoussam from which she graduated in 2013 with a “Baccalauréat” of Mathematics and Physics. Straight out of high school she moved to Lome in Togo (West Africa) where she attended the African College of Architecture and Urbanism as an Architecture student. After completion of her first year of architecture in July 2014, she returned to Cameroon for six months and then moved to the United States. Before enrolling at Clinton Community College in the Fall of 2015, Liz-Audrey focused on learning English and the American culture and worked part time. Liz-Audrey is graduating Summa Cum Laude with an Associate of Science Liberal Arts: Math and Science degree. While at Clinton she was a member of the International Club and officer for Phi Theta Kappa, as well as an Honors Scholar. Following graduation, Liz-Audrey will be continuing her studies as a Biomedical Engineering major at the school of engineering and applied sciences of the University at Buffalo.

Salutatorian is Hunter J. Guennel, graduating Summa Cum Laude with an Associate of Applied Science in Mechanical Technology degree. Hunter is a 2015 graduate of AuSable Valley Central High School, where he also took Clinton CAP courses. Hunter came to Clinton as a Presidential Scholar, and was the recipient of both the Outstanding Achievement in Math and Excellence in Mechanical Technology awards for 2016. Following graduation, he plans to pursue a career in local industry. Director of Advanced Manufacturing and Technology, Kristopher Renadette, who had Hunter as a student in many courses extends his congratulations and comments that “Hunter is an exceptionally hard working and dedicated student, who was always available to assist his fellow students.”

Three Clinton faculty/staff members will be presented with Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence, including Barrie Guibord for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching, Gary Henry for Excellence in Teaching, and Sarah McCarty for Excellence in Professional Service.

The ceremony is open to the public.