Skip Navigation Links

CCC Students Receive Chancellor’s Award

Tuesday, May 01, 2007

Two Clinton Community College students are recipients of the State University of New York Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence. Matthew Ormsby, of Plattsburgh, New York, and Trisha Hanson, of Bristol, Vermont were named by SUNY Chancellor John B. Ryan as 2007 Chancellor’s Award winners at a ceremony held April 18 at the Empire State Plaza in Albany.

Matthew Ormsby graduated with honors from CCC in December 2006 with an associate of science degree in business administration. While a student at Clinton, Ormsby was a member of the College Board of Trustees, a member of Student Senate, a 5-time scholar athlete, captain of the soccer team and member of the NIC All-Conference Team. “I had a great experience at Clinton and the faculty and staff have been tremendous,” said Ormsby. “It is a great honor to be receiving this award.” Ormsby is presently attending SUNY Plattsburgh majoring in accounting and finance.

Trisha Hanson will graduate from Clinton in May 2007 with a degree in humanities and social science. Hanson is currently a Senior Resident Assistant, Vice President of the Board for the Faculty Student Association, treasurer and Officer-at-Large for Student Senate, and Chair of the Student Advisory Board. “Clinton Community College has offered me some really great opportunities that have helped me to grow,” expressed Hanson. “I’ve been able to expand my skills in public speaking, program planning, peer education, and organizational oversight. It’s been great to be involved in several aspects of the college. The faculty and staff have been extremely supportive. It’s quite an honor to join the selective ranks of the Chancellor’s Award Winners.” Hanson plans to transfer to SUNY Plattsburgh in the fall and will major in psychology.

“Matthew and Trisha exemplify the hard work, sacrifice, and perseverance of our students,” said Dr. Maurice Hickey, president of CCC. “Their accomplishments at Clinton Community College will translate into significant contributions to the community and they will serve as a role models for those around them.”

Chancellor John R. Ryan honored 283 students from SUNY campuses around the state with the 2007 Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence. The Awards are given out annually to students who earn a Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.78 or higher and record a significant contribution to their campus or local community.

"Recipients of this year's awards have excelled academically and, in many cases, far exceeded even their own expectations in their pursuit of higher education and community involvement," said Chancellor Ryan. "The Chancellor's Award for Excellence is given to the best and the brightest students across the SUNY System. I am pleased to see so many recipients this year from nearly all of our campuses. I commend the campus presidents and their faculty and staff for discovering and enhancing student excellence throughout the year."

President Hickey, Trisha Hanson, and Chancellor Ryan

President Hickey, Matthew Ormsby, and Chancellor Ryan