Three Clinton Faculty / Staff Recognized for ExcellencePage Title

Three Clinton Community College faculty and staff members received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence for 2018: Wanda Haby, Dr. Francine Jolicoeur, and Chrisa O’Connell. The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence is a State University of New York system-wide honor, providing recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encouraging the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Through these awards, SUNY publicly proclaims its pride in the accomplishment and personal dedication of its instructional faculty, librarians, and staff across its 64 campuses and system administration.

In a statement from the State University of New York, “One of my themes for SUNY is individualized education, meaning the work we do to help our students navigate the programs and opportunities within our 64 campuses,” said SUNY Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson. “Our faculty and staff educate, inspire, and support our students to pursue their passions; they are the driving force on campus. Those we honor today are leading this effort through their commitment to their craft and their dedication to our students. I am proud to celebrate and honor this year’s recipients, including Wanda Haby, Dr. Francine Jolicoeur, and Chrisa O’Connell from Clinton Community College.”

Clinton Community College President Ray M. DiPasquale adds, “Clinton’s hallmark is in providing quality education and personal attention to our students. Every student is important at Clinton, and it is people like Wanda, Francine, and Chrisa who really make a difference. Congratulations!”

Wanda Haby received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching. Wanda has been an adjunct instructor in Clinton’s Business, Humanities, and Social Behavioral Sciences Departments since 2010. She has a bachelor and master’s degree from Wayland Baptist University in Texas and is working toward her Ph.D. in Organizational Leadership. Wanda has traveled extensively both nationally and internationally for cultural observations throughout the last several years, and students in her class indicated that her methods are diverse and allow for easy association and application of knowledge to everyday life and society. Her commitment to Clinton Community College and her students make her an excellent choice as the recipient for the Chancellor’s Award in Adjunct teaching.

Dr. Francine Jolicoeur, Assistant Professor in the Science Department, received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Francine received her B.Sc. in Biological Sciences and Ph.D. in Pathology and Cellular Biology from the University of Montreal – Montreal, QC. Francine joined the college in 2011 as an adjunct instructor and was hired full-time in the fall of 2013. She teaches an array of science courses which include microbiology, human biology and anatomy & physiology which provide her students with experiences that connect what they are learning to real-life applications. Francine is noted for her commitment to student success, establishing a positive rapport and being an inspiration to students in her classes.

Chrisa O’Connell, Student Support Services Coordinator, received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service. Chrisa received her B.S. in Psychology and M.S. in Community Counseling from Plattsburgh State University. She began her career at Clinton as an adjunct instructor and was hired full-time in Student Services in 2006. Chrisa is part of the student affairs leadership team and is a very student-oriented person who is accessible to students and staff, and takes pride in fostering collaboration across campus as well as working with multiple community organizations to provide the services that our students need.

The Chancellor’s Award recipients were recognized during the College’s Spring Commencement ceremony, held on May 11.